St. Wolfgang Chapel

75 Points of Interest

The St. Wolfgang Chapel, which is to be found below the Komáří Summit, is a picturesque sight. It dates back to 1692, but originally it had been built in Gothic style as early as the 14th century. During the Thirty Years´War the chapel was completely demolished and it was renewed as late as the 1692 – 1700 period. It was newly built in Baroque style by mason foreman H. Gradish and carpenter H.G.Prüchel. The capel was dedicated to St. Wolfgang, miners´patron, who was Regensburg bishop and around 967 he contributed greatly to establishment of Prague episcopate. People at that time believed that St. Wolfgang had stayed at the Komáří Summit and as he had liked the local environment, he had blessed local bilberries and these plants had grown extremely since that time. That is why traditional bilberry pilgrimages used to be held there. Below the chapel a small mountain cemetery with magic atmosphere is to be found.

Contacts