75 Points of Interest

In the past the Cínovec village was a point through which a route from Saxony to Bohemia ran. Tin ore was mined there from the 14th century. Its development was accelerated when, in 1879, silver deposits were also wound as well as tungsten used for steel hardening. The Thirty Years´War was a disaster for the village. In 1813, before the Battle of Nations of Leipzig, the village had been occupied by the allied forces and, afterward, by the French army. The village was plundered. The development peak occurred in 1930, when hat manufacture factories and pocket lamp manufacture factories thrived here too. In 1989 mining was discontinued and the village could therefore become summer and winter tourism centre. Visitors can find there two former border crossings as well as cross border route serving for both pedestrians/hikers and cyclists.